Ananias Diokno, M.D., Executive Vice President

(Click to enlarge)

Ananias Diokno, M.D., served as chief medical officer and an executive vice president of the Beaumont Health System from September 2006 until June 1. He recently stepped down from his administrative role and will retire on Sept. 1.

Over the years, Dr. Diokno has held many leadership roles at Beaumont. He served as the chairman of the Department of Urology at Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak, Mich. from July 1, 1984 - June 30, 2007 and was the first Peter & Florine Ministrelli Distinguished Chair in Urology for 2006-2007.

Dr. Diokno qualified in medicine at the University of Santo Tomas in Manila, Philippines.  He completed his urologic training followed by the Babcock Fellowship in Neurourology and Urodynamics at the University of Michigan. He stayed at Michigan as a faculty member from 1971 and was named full professor in 1982.

As Michigan faculty, he received the Kaiser-Permanente Award for Excellence in Teaching voted by the medical students, as well as the Silver Cystoscope awarded by the urology residents. He was elected president of the Michigan Urological Society, the Philippine American Urological Society, the AUA North Central Section, and the Reed M. Nesbit Society and is currently president of the Geriatric Urologic Society.

Dr. Diokno also serves as associate editor of the International Journal of Urology and Nephrology. He co-chaired the first United States AHCPR Guidelines for Urinary Incontinence in Adults in 1992.

Dr. Diokno has published more than 250 journal articles and book chapters and is the recipient of numerous scientific awards.  He is a recipient of the NIH Merit Award and has conducted NIH-funded research projects at Beaumont since 1984. He was honoured as NAFC Urologist of the year in 2000, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society of Urodynamics & Female Urology in 2002, the American Urologic Association Presidential Citation Award in May 2007, the Outstanding Alumni Award in health-medical for 2007 by the UST Alumni Association and the North Central Section of the American Urological Association Honored Member for 2008.